12.01.2019 - 31.03.2019


Music as we look at it : art and cinema 

The parallel, common histories of modern art and contemporary art (including photography, cinema, video and television) have constantly become interwoven, putting art under the focus of the camera in the necessity of time. One could cite the very relevant meeting between cinema and art through “The Responsive Eye”, a documentary directed in 1966 by Brian de Palma on modern art.

Elaborating a program of films on contemporary creation perceived in its wider context means causing subjects, domains and fields of expression to collide and emphasizing the way art is worked on. In this perspective, the meeting between music and cinema creates a universe which is rich in original works.

Through music, singing, recitation or simply noise, the sound of works involves relations between language, the spoken word and the ability to listen, which Roland Barthes often presented as a complex, subtle process. Artists set up sound installations which they configure and turn into places of experiences, with a song being whispered, a shout, an unbearably strident noise and some music. Other works provide scenarios for abstract sound landscapes.

This collection of films emanating from the video collection of Centre national des arts plastiques (National Centre for Visual Arts) and including works by Charles de Meaux, Dominique Gonzalez Foerster, Pierre Huyghe, Ange Leccia and Romain Kronenbourg , bear witness to the rich diversity of film creation in France, which is presented alongside the rich singularity of Icelandic creation by Sigurður Guðjónson, Dodda Maggý, Steina & Woody Vasulka.

Curators: Pascale Cassagnau, CNAP and Gústav Geir Bollason.

First exhibited at Verksmiðjan, Hjalteyri Contemporary art center in an old herring factory (28.07. – 09.09.2018) in collaboration with Berg Contemporary, Reykjavík. Supported by Fullveldissjóður, Uppbyggingarsjóður, Myndlistarsjóður, CNAP, Hörgársveit and Ásprent.



Ange Leccia

Charles de Meaux

Dodda Maggý

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster

Doug Aitken

Jean-Luc Vilmouth

Lorna Simpson

Pierre Huyghe,

Romain Kronenberg

Sigurður Guðjónsson

Steina & Woody Vasulka